Tampa Bay – Brandon Florida Trespass Attorney
Tampa Bay – Brandon Florida Trespass Criminal Defense Lawyer
Are you facing a Trespass charge in Tampa Bay? A criminal defense lawyer from The Lawler Firm can help.
Pursuant to Florida Statute 810.08 any person without being authorized, licensed, or invited, willfully enters or remains in any structure or conveyance, or, having been authorized, licensed, or invited, is warned by the owner or lessee of the premises, or by a person authorized by the owner or lessee, to depart and refuses to do so, commits the offense of trespass in a structure or conveyance. The offense can occur on someone’s land, in a car, a store, or in a house. Even if first invited or given permission to be there, you can be charged of the owner withdraws that permission and you refuse to leave.
Trespass in an unoccupied structure or conveyance is a second degree misdemeanor, punishable by up to 60 days in jail and 6 months of probation. If the structure or conveyance was occupied at the time of the offense, the crime is a first degree misdemeanor, punishable by up to 1 year in jail and 1 year of probation. If you a weapon was carried during the trespass, it becomes a third degree felony, punishable by up to 5 years in prison.
Trespass charges cases can be defended in many ways depending on the particular circumstances of your case. In some cases, you may prove permission to be on the property, or that the property was open to the public. You can attack a lack of prior warning, and whether the State can prove you carried a weapon. A Tampa Trespass defense attorney can discuss your options based on the facts of your case.
If you are facing Trespass charges, call The Lawler Firm now for a free no obligation consultation. You will speak to your actual Trespass criminal defense attorney, who will meet with you, even on evenings and weekends. Call Now (813) 431-4470!