DUI License Suspensions
Tampa Bay – Brandon Florida DUI License Suspension Attorney
Tampa Bay – Brandon Florida DUI License Suspension Criminal Defense Lawyer
Are you facing a DUI License Suspension in Tampa Bay? A criminal defense lawyer from The Lawler Firm can help. CALL WITHIN 10 DAYS OF YOUR ARREST TO PROTECT YOUR ABILITY TO CHALLENGE THE LICENSE SUSPENSION!
If you have been charged with a DUI (Driving Under the Influence), you face severe consequences, including suspension of your driver’s license. Think about how you are going to get to work, school, and the grocery store without driving. It is important to hire a DUI lawyer as quickly as possible to protect your rights. You have ten (10) days from your arrest to request a formal review hearing with the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. For your first DUI conviction, the suspension is 180 days to 1 year from the date of the conviction. You may apply for a hardship license before the suspension period ends. This license will allow you to drive to work and certain other places during the remainder of the suspension period. You must have completed DUI school, an alcohol evaluation and any required treatment to qualify. If you wait until after the entire suspension period to reinstate your license, proof of completion of DUI school, an alcohol evaluation and any required treatment is still required. You must also pay an administrative fee, reinstatement fee and proof of required insurance. For subsequent DUI convictions, the suspensions increase in length, and the length of time to obtain a hardship license increases. For a fourth DUI conviction, there is a permanent license revocation and you are unable to ever get a license in Florida again
If you provided a breath or blood sample more than 0.08, your license will be suspended for 6 months on the first offense and 1 year for subsequent offenses. This suspension takes effect on the day of the arrest, but you are given a 10-day permit to drive from the date of the arrest. You can challenge the administrative suspension if you request a formal hearing within that 10 days. Otherwise, you can apply for a hardship license after 30 days, unless you have two or more prior DUI convictions
Florida has an Implied Consent Law which states that each person gives consent to a breath, urine or blood test as a condition of licensing. If you refuse a test following a lawful arrest, your driver’s license will be suspended administratively by the DHSMV – this is separate from a suspension for a DUI conviction. Your license will be suspended for 1 year on the first offense and 18 months for subsequent offenses. This suspension takes effect on the day of the arrest, but you are given a 10-day permit to drive from the date of the arrest. You can challenge the administrative suspension if you request a formal hearing within that 10 days. Otherwise, you can apply for a hardship license after 90 days, unless you have two or more prior DUI convictions, or have refused to provide a sample two or more times.
DUI License Suspension cases can be defended in many ways depending on the particular circumstances of your case. Sometimes, officers fail to submit the proper paperwork or refuse to attend the hearing. In other cases, the lawfulness of the arrest can be challenged. A Tampa DUI License Suspension defense attorney can discuss your options based on the facts of your case.
If you are facing DUI License Suspension, call The Lawler Firm now for a free no obligation consultation. You will speak to your actual DUI License Suspension defense attorney, who will meet with you, even on evenings and weekends. Call Now (813) 413-8828!